In Wyoming, kidnapping is a felony and is classified into two degrees in accordance with the gravity of crime.
According to Wyoming law, Wyo. Stat. § 6-2-201, a person commits the crime of kidnapping if s/he unlawfully removes another from his or her place of residence or business or from the vicinity where s/he was at the time of the removal, or if s/he unlawfully confines another person, with the intent to:
- Hold him/her for ransom or reward;
- Use him/her as a shield or hostage;
- Facilitate the commission of a felony;
- Inflict bodily injury upon him/her;
- terrorize the victim or another.
The person committing the crime of kidnapping has the burden of going forward with evidence to show that s/he voluntarily released the victim unharmed in a safe place.[i]
Elements of kidnapping are confinement with the intent to hold for ransom, to facilitate the commission of a felony, or to inflict bodily injury on or to terrorize the victim or another.[ii]
Punishment for committing kidnapping is imprisonment for not more than 20 years, if s/he voluntarily releases the victim substantially unharmed and in a safe place prior to trial. If s/he does not voluntarily release the victim, punishment is imprisonment for not less than 20 years or for life. However kidnapping a child under the age of 16 years, leads to murder then s/he is guilty of murder in the first degree. A person convicted of murder in the first degree shall be punished by death, life imprisonment without parole or life imprisonment.
The Wyoming Police Department protects life and property, maintenance law and order, enforce laws and ordinances, prevent crime; and safeguard constitutional guarantees. Department helps to find out missing adults and children.
[i] Loomer v. State, 768 P.2d 1042 (Wyo. 1989)
[ii] Doud v. State, 845 P.2d 402 (Wyo. 1993)