Nevada Kidnapping/Abduction Laws

Kidnapping is the crime of taking a person against their will to an undisclosed location.  This may be done for ransom or in furtherance of another crime, or in connection with a child custody dispute.  Nevada laws classify kidnapping into two categories: first degree and second degree.  A person convicted of kidnapping in the first degree is guilty of a category A felony, if the kidnapped person suffers substantial bodily harm during the act of kidnapping or the subsequent detention or in attempted escape or escape there from.

Category A felony shall be punished:

  • by imprisonment in the state prison for life without the possibility of parole;
  • For life with the possibility of parole, with eligibility for parole beginning when a minimum of 15 years has been served; or
  • For a definite term of 40 years, with eligibility for parole beginning when a minimum of 15 years has been served.

Where the kidnaped person suffers no substantial bodily harm as a result of the kidnapping the punishment shall be by imprisonment in the state prison:

  • For life with the possibility of parole, with eligibility for parole beginning when a minimum of 5 years has been served; or
  • For a definite term of 15 years, with eligibility for parole beginning when a minimum of 5 years has been served[i].

A person convicted of kidnapping in the second degree is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 2 years and a maximum term of not more than 15 years, and may be further punished by a fine of not more than $15,000[ii].

A person who aids and abets kidnapping in the first degree is guilty of a category A felony and shall be punished for kidnapping in the first degree as provided in NRS 200.320.  Moreover, a person who aids and abets kidnapping in the second degree is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 2 years and a maximum term of not more than 15 years[iii].

A law enforcement officer who is conducting an investigation or making an arrest concerning the abduction of a child shall take the child into protective custody if he reasonably believes that the child is in danger of being removed from the jurisdiction[iv].

Nevada Child Seekers, a registered nonprofit organization, created in 1985.  It’s mission is to advocate for and engage in prevention, identification and location efforts on behalf of missing and exploited children.

Nevada Child Seekers

[i] Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 200.330

[ii] Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 200.320

[iii] Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 200.340

[iv] Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 200.357


Inside Nevada Kidnapping/Abduction Laws